Band Videos
Band MP3's
Music Venues
About Contact
Gig Listings
Latest News
Dolfin Services
Hugh's Blues
Band Reviews
Recording Studios
Band Photos

Dolfin Reviews

Been to a good gig? Know of a good band? Write a review and send it in to us!

Spider Pig

Lord Nelson

Saturday 24th September


I love live music. Put a woman with a paper and comb or a man playing a tin whistle up to the microphone and I am there. The word criticism is often used incorrectly. Criticism can be harsh or constructive and I hope this review is seen in that light.


Spider Pig are One of the new type of band goes the traditional amplifiers on stage. All the instruments are fed through the PA system and the band use In Ear Monitor headphones to hear themselves and their bandmates.


They certainly had the equipment with a massive PA system but the sound, from where I was standing was sadly lacking. Although the band spent a lot of time adjusting the sound for themselves, the sound I heard was dominated by the bass guitar almost to the exclusion of everything else. *


Spyder Pig could be great, average or mediocre, I could not tell. Their repertoire was fairly standard faire for the Nelly. Classic Rock, and to fair fair they did have s deputy standing in for one of the guitarists. It is also true that bands use one the traditional backline of amplifiers can get the sound wrong. My advice to Spider Pig and any band is get long guitar/microphone leads and go out front during you sound check. That way you can to hear what the audience will hear. At the end of the day (night) they are the ones that matter.

*As a bassist myself, I have no axe ( no pun intended) to grind with bass guitar, I just wanted to hear the whole band.


John Anderson

 

 

Band review - John Anderson

Dirty tricks at the King Charles, Poole, Friday 14th October.


The problem with trios especially power trios, is that sometimes the vocals are lacking. Not so with Dirty Tricks, a full King Charles was entertained with some classic, and not so well known rock.


Guitar was crisp and hard-hitting drums exceptional and the bassist played with such vigour, I half expected a heart attack at any moment, the bassist's, not mine. His dancing and bopping as exciting as his playing.


It was plain to see that this was three friends thoroughly enjoying themselves and giving the audience good time. It Was a real party atmosphere and most did not want the evening to end.


If I had to criticise one thing it was the choice of encore. Whole Lot of Rosie was great but the final song (another AC/DC song) seemed to lack something as a song to end the evening. However it was a great night in my favourite venue. If they are playing locally, and you love rock, Dirty Tricks go and see them, the bassists performance alone,is priceless.


 

Review - Repeat Offenders at the King Charles Poole - John Anderson

Saturday 8th October I was at a loose end (and did not fancy the bands at The Nelson or Mr. Kyps). Despite almost being put off by the YouTube videos, I ended up at the King Charles in Poole to see Repeat Offenders.

Having played in bands I am always wary of keyboards. They can sometimes dominate the band in a NICE sort of way! This was one instance where I was wrong. The five priece consisting of Drums, Keyboards, Lead Guitar, Rhythm Guitar and Bass played a varied and interesting couple of sets.

The first set, as seems traditional, was quieter with mainly some of the better Pop and Soul songs from the 60/70s. The second half was more of a rocker with some old favourites and of the more obscure rock tracks from that era.

Repeat Offenders play a good selection that got a good crowd going.

If Megadeth or even AC/DC is your thing they may not be for you but they certainly rock the joint.

Next gigs: www.repeat-offenders.co.uk/Gigs.html


John Anderson

 

 

Grooves on the Green 2015 Festival Review and photos by Beca Fludgate – Dolfin Music

We arrived at Grooves and could hear the last of Thingyman’s set – it sounded awesome even from outside the fence – trippy and a cool folk/rock vibe. The security for the festival was very good and everyone on the gate was very friendly. I went on the Saturday and the weather was fine and sunny. There was a very relaxed ambience on the green – the first band I went to see were Ironic Encounter who were on The Calling Stage – they played an energetic, edgy acoustic set, there were 2 guys playing acoustic guitars, a bassist and drummer and they all kicked out a good sound.

I then went back across to the main stage, hosted by DJ Conrad Barr who was playing some great tunes in between the band set ups – All About Tobe were getting ready to play. They are a 3-piece band that played some mellow acoustic songs with a reggae vibe, which chilled everyone out nicely.

I hiked back to the Calling Stage after a while and caught some of The Hardcore Troubador’s set. When I got there they were doing Steve Earle’s Copperhead Road, a loose and happy version which was great. They had a simple acoustic set up with a beat box and guitars and great vocals. There was a good crowd around the Calling Stage which was hosted Si Genaro who was looking after the bands very well.





Wanting to pack as much in as possible I soon had to head back to the main stage where Afro Tallewah were about to play. They are a six piece African band and they were perfect for the festival. People had begun to dance earlier to All About Tobe and now more people joined in for Afro Tallewah’s vibrant and spiritualised set. The band played some amazing songs with an instinctual and natural ease and big smiles.

 

I wanted to catch the next band on at the other stage so headed off to watch Power Thief – a young four-piece band in their early teens. When I got there they did a Beatles cover and also a cover of Hey Joe as well as doing some of their own songs. Their music seemed influenced by bands from the 60’s and they have a very rock ‘n’ roll style going on even if a little inexperienced. The crowd certainly appreciated their music and it was great to see such a young band playing a festival like Grooves and the mix of music from the different stages was interesting and they complimented each other even whilst being quite different in styles.




Grooves on the Green is a wonderful local community festival and continues to deliver a great experience and raise funds for Diverse Abilities Plus, a real privilege to be there, long may it continue!

 

 

More photos from the festival are online at our Facebook page: www.facebook.com/dolfinmusic

 

 

 

 

Dolfin Music Album Review – Static on the Airwaves by the Levellers release date 25th June 2012

Date of Review: 13th May 2012
Review by: Beca Fludgate, Dolfin Music

The Levellers are:
- Mark Chadwick (vocals, guitar, harmonica)
- Simon Friend (1990 to present: guitar, banjo, vocals, mandolin, harmonica)
- Jeremy Cunningham (bass guitar, vocals)
- Charlie Heather (drums)
- Jonathan Sevink (fiddle)
- Matt Savage (2003 to present: keyboards, backing vocals)
Sometimes supported by Stephen Boakes (didgeridoo.)

Review

This new album, Static on the Airwaves, from the Levellers starts as you would expect with crackling, whizzing static sounds and moves into a nice keyboard arrangement progressing to a great guitar riff for the first song We Are All Gunmen, which describes the duality of modern life from both the idealist view juxtaposing with the harsh reality of war and pain.

Our Forgotten Towns stands out from the crowd being the fourth song in the track listing it brings a whole different vibe, which is refreshing and prepares nicely for the next song No Barriers. For me Mark Chadwick’s vocals give the songs a spirit and depth that works brilliantly with Jonathan Sevink’s fiddle beautifully mixed with the rest of the instruments.

Alone in the Darkness is the song that touched me the most personally I think, it’s a beautiful, passionate song, the lyrics are in the first person which gives it more intimacy and it works so well with the rough, edgy timbre of Mark’s voice. The band have worked very well together on this album and the songs give hints at the many possible influences such as Iron Maiden in Raft of the Medusa – a hard hitting folk song about the running aground of a French Naval frigate and a metaphor for modern Europe. The lyric of the song articulates the story in bold and gruesome detail. Continuing with sea stories we have Mutiny, which is the tale of the 1917, Etaples Mutiny by British Troops in France – with strong bass riff, fiddle and guitar – quite traditional sounding tune, appropriate for the song.

The next song is Traveller- some beautiful piano here accompanying a poetic, gentle yet cutting lyric, one of my favourites from the album - loving the acoustic guitar, piano and harmonies. Again Mark’s soulful, passionate vocal helps the song stand out.

Changing the mood again, we have Second Life, a sarcastic song about our online social lives, “a saviour that doesn’t bleed” – all these songs would be fantastic to see played live but the album captures the energy of the band well. To finish we have The Recruiting Sergeant, recorded live I think – lovely atmosphere on this song and full of dark humour. It finishes the album well.

The lovely thing about this album is the great vocals and arrangements, vibrant, feisty, spirited and enlivening. The political statements made by the songs are real and honest with satirical humour – Truth Is, the second song on the album and now online, is a great socio-political statement on our modern argument with politicians, bankers and commercialism.

www.dolfinmusic.com

 

Peachy -Love Life...Review- Stu Johnson.

This song is one of their best yet. The brief intro (would have sounded even better if it had gone for another couple of bars) sets the whole rhythm and tone of the song. An acoustic guitar rhythm sound overlayed with a neat electric guitar riff complements Vickys' vocals perfectly for the first verse. The rhythm of the acoustic then cleverly builds the bridge, ready for the chorus...

I'd sure like to know what's going on in Becas' head at this point, because the sound of her guitar becomes more apparent, and combined with what she's actually playing here, it might be described as almost 'menacing'...? that can't be right, can it...? or is it more 'mixed or frustrated emotions'...?

The chorus then comes in nicely, breaking the tension that has been built up.
This is really nice as Vicky pours her heart out, over Vicky’s harmonies in the background. Vickys' voice is very different to many singers. She doesn't 'go with the crowd'... her voice is quite unique. At times there's a sort of emotional vunerability to her voice/singing which i really like. On a purely personal note, I would like to hear just a little more echo/reverb on her voice, or perhaps some double/triple tracking to emphasis this aspect.

Getting back to the song... Breaking the usual 'song format', there is then a small bridge that brings the song into the next verse.
This is another aspect where Peachy Jane differ from a lot of bands, Beca expresses her feelings, and gives the song a great 'feel' through her guitar playing in a way that is a bit different to many guitarists. You can't simply classify her as a rhythm player, oh no...her playing is very much the 'heart' of the song, very emotive, in an almost naive sort of way. (and I hope she'll forgive me for saying that, it is meant as a compliment), because her expressive style is original and certainly leaves its' mark.

The next verse goes along nicely with some neat vocal (tricks)/phrases, and then there's that bridge again...this time even stronger than before, with the edition of a synth? playing some low end notes. Brooding and pondering..?, (sorry Becs..) it hangs onto that last chord as long as it can, almost to breaking point, and then the chorus kicks in, trying to burst the banks of...? frustration...sadness... anger and hurt...? expressing some of the emotional turmoil that is, the 'human condition'...

The final verse ends with an observation...? no... a hard fact, of how precious life is, and how vunerable, we as people, can be....

This is a great song by Beca and Vicky, it's not 'slushy' or pretentious, but tells things as they are.

www.peachyjane.co.uk

 

 

Review – Red Light EP by Empire Affair

Reviewer: Beca Fludgate, Dolfin Music 07/09/11

I was sent the new EP Red Light by Empire Affair to review and much pleased I am to review it! Formed in early 2011, the band used to gig as Echo, until a change of personnel and direction birthed Empire Affair.

The EP starts with what is my favourite song from this band, a track called “One of Me”. The song’s style is indie rock and has a great opening intro and good refrain, which is the main hook of the song, which is imbued with much Coldplayesque guitar. There is a nice break into the middle eight. The song is up-tempo, bright and vibrant and lyrically appealing.

The band’s next song is shows them in punk style. Illyria is as well as it’s interesting name, not particularly original in the verse but the quirky chorus makes up for it. Definite hints towards the Sex Pistols and The Clash here. It’s a boppy, upbeat song with a good build up to the chorus. Not something I would be into myself it should prove to be popular nonetheless.

“December”, the third song listed is my second favourite song and here the band show even more influence from bands such as Coldplay and the Kings of Leon. Evocative and emotional the song is lyrically strong with a strong bridge and the introduction of keyboards in the production, which gives the whole song fullness, and power that fits well with the guitars.

Take Me Down is the last song on this EP and again here the band go back to a more punk style. The intro again is good and the song is lively, spirited and energetic. Something that would be good live, more so I think than this recording, personally my least favourite song from the EP, however, a good strong and original song.

The EP is released on iTunes, you can buy it here http://itunes.apple.com/gb/album/red-light/id453769746

Empire Affair are Neil Tallant - Vocals, Jack Woolston - Lead Guitar, Matt Park - Rhythm Guitar, Tom Parrett Bass, Darren Sheppard - Drums.

Visit their website at www.empireaffair.co.uk

 

REVIEW: “A PLACE TO PLAY” – MATTHEW NEIL – by Beca

I was sent this album to review by Matt, it has seven songs, and all recorded live at acoustic evenings around Bournemouth.

Matt’s tunes are quirky and offbeat with slightly off kilter melodies, the best example of this being “Paul’s Walking Blues” which is a strange song but has an eccentric appeal. His funky energetic guitar work lifts the songs and he has a good playing technique on the guitar, including riffs and solos within the song, keeping the beat and holding the song together.

Il Carvo, track 4 on the album has a slow bluesy riff, which I liked, but to me the vocal lacked melody. Track 5, “White Lilies” has a better melody and Matt does a passionate vocal although is use of melody I feel could be improved. “Once in a While” has good chord progressions with good rhythmic playing and use of acoustics.

Lyrically the songs gave the impression of artistic and passionate feelings. The final track, “Release” is very dramatic and I felt this was the best song on the album. I was left wondering how these songs would translate in a full band arrangement, as I think it would be quite interesting and powerful. If you like something that’s different and off the wall I think you’d like Matt’s album.

 

Review – Peachy Jane at The Winchester 10th April 2010 by Marylyn Cropley (Freeplay)


Firstly...think the Winchester is a brill venue...and suited the band...the crowd seemed to be enjoying themselves and the music... Think on hindsight an encore from Peachy would have been good...they were going great guns then stopped suddenly! I could have done with a couple more numbers from them at least! More confidence here! The content was brill a good eclectic mix...would have liked to see more people get up and dance...including me!

 

“FRANK” – Pete Christie – Review

by Beca Fludgate

Take time out to listen to this album, as it deserves “listening” to!

“Frank” is the new album by Pete Christie and it is aptly titled as the songs are frank, honest, real and open up the listener’s heart to issues they may not want to face but really should and will feel better for doing so. Featuring some of Bournemouth’s finest, Pete Christie has produced a great album, which looks as professional as it sounds.
The production, artwork, arrangements, instrumentation, engineering and musicianship from all involved are superb – as are the songs themselves. Ted Wallbridge, Frankie Milner, Aimee Newsome-Stone and Monique Houraghan give excellent harmony vocals with production and engineering by Martin Condon of Active Music. Ted Wallbridge plays drums, except on Monday Morning and Pete Wallbridge is on bass guitar and drums, both of which feature in seductive moments throughout.
Pete’s song writing articulates his emotional journeys with skill and tenderness and the whole feel of the album is soft, mellow, delicate and subtle which complements Pete’s edgy and eloquent vocal. The songs touched me personally on several occasions on an emotional level (yes, I did cry at one point!) as I can relate to the struggles that Pete is writing about as I think most people who listen to it will.
The opening track, “Open Your Heart” is one of my favourites. It opens the album with a very gentle melodic intro and builds slowly into a dedication of love. The middle 8 lifts the song into a new groove, which builds further. The production is sensitive to the song and there is a lovely drum roll at the end with superb ambience and acoustics in the recording.
“Normal Shade of Blue” is a story type song and finds Pete drinking “coffee flavoured water in a service station” – this illustrates the humour that flavours the whole album which although quite intense and dark also lifts the listener with moments of irony and bittersweet analogies. Pete covers a Bob Dylan song called “Not Dark Yet” which is the longest song on the album and has Pete’s only guitar solo on the album. Listening I immediately thought of Clapton and any number of other guitar greats, the playing was so good. “Shattered” has a melancholy intro, which develops into an uplifting riff on the keyboard. It is about a break up and the emotional fall out from it. “My dreams are like broken glass, shattered around my feet” – many of the songs are intensely personal journeys that I could certainly relate to, especially “Waiting in the Wings” which I think every aspiring artist should listen to and learn from - this track also features the Band of the Royal British Legion, Christchurch which adds a whole different feel to this song amongst the others. Pete’s included on this album one of my favourite songs of his “Easy Come, Easy Go” which I love for its upbeat, up tempo rhythm and honest lyric. “Monday Morning” reminded of me of McCartney as the harmonies came in and the bleak but cheeky picture painted of the English weather, English life and English humour. “Making Waves” has a gorgeous opening riff with beautiful guitar arrangements and again is a self-confessional and open song with poetic use of allegory.
“Just A Song” finishes the album and I think it’s Pete’s way of not taking himself too seriously but admitting he has a dream and is not going to give up on it which I found very inspiring – get hold of this album if you can, it’s well worth it.


www.petechristie.co.uk

Interview with Pete on BBC Radio Solent

 

PARKSTONE PUB FESTIVAL

Had a great time at the Parkstone Pub festival last weekend - saw 3 bands - Colt 45, Vulcan and Matt Park. There was face painting and a barbi which cooked up some good sausages and burgers for the hungry crowd!

Colt 45 blew me away with their enery and playing skill but what was really unique was their young singer who has a brilliant voice that is surprisingly "rocky" for someone quite young. I didn't catch many original numbers but the ones I did were lively and interesting. These guys are ones to watch definitely. They rocked the pub to the rafters!

Vulcan played a real mix of songs (covers) - one that really got the crowd going was "I predict a riot." They do a variety of modern up to the minute songs and older more classic rock songs. There playing was good their singer has a good voice and can handle the variety of styles they do well. The band was tight and their guitarist was cool. They are an entertaining band that play a good varied set and play it well.

Matt Park was solo acoustic and although his songs may not be to everyone's initial taste I have found myself getting to like them even though at first I wasn't sure! He is a good guitar player and singer/songwriter and his bluesy, off beat style is certainly something different that I have not heard before. His songs definitely need a few listens to get to grips with them.

All these acts are on www.dolfinmusic.ning.com so please check out their gigs and music to know more. Many thanks to Adam Muxlow for organising a great event which raised money for charity and for booking these bands.

Beca
Dolfin Music

 

Local legend Chris Manning of The Chris Manning Project, launched the first live and acoustic night at new trendy cocktail bar and restaurant Melange.
A candle lit room with soft furnishings, created the perfect setting to listen to some of Bournemouth's finest singer song writers perform their original material. All handpicked by Chris himself the result was an eclectic blend of harmonious melodies and styles.
Ritchie Quain thrust the night into action with his quirky style and persona then drew the audience in with his guitar and melodic voice baring an essence of blues and soul. Two piece collaboration, Fuscia followed suit with Frankie Milner on Keyboard singing sensitive harmonies whilst lead singer Lauren Bannon blew the crowd away and drew others in from the bar area with her powerful Eva Cassidy soul voice, then handsome solo singer Michael Ricketts performed short, sweet storytelling tracks which bore an essence of James Blunt. Up next were talented singer song writing duo, Julie Stains and Esther Frake who wowed with their radiant voices and inspirational lyrics. Gianni Chiarello and Chris himself joined in alongside the girls to perform some of Chris's original material as well as amazing covers which included Sam Sparro’s Black and Gold. Finally, young, fun band Groove Deep completed the evening with covers of some well known tunes.
Chris told us "This is something I have wanted to do for such a long time and I am glad I have had the opportunity to help showcase some of Bournemouth's finest singer songwriters. The night was a real success and hopefully this is one of many stepping stones to Bournemouth being recognised as a town of real music and talent"
Melange “Live and Acoustic” is held every Wednesday night from 8pm with a modest entrance fee of £3 and support by the Dorset Music Forum.

Review By Nina Taylor
Photography by Nina Taylor of http://www.phunkyfishphotography.co.uk/

Fuscia

 

REVIEW: Lady Winwoods Maggot- 7th April 2008 -Thomas Tripp, Christchurch - by Tina Pope


View Gallery 1


I regularly go to the Thomas Tripp in Christchurch to check out the bands on a sunday eve.Tonight I stumbled across a band like no other I have seen before.Upon arriving at the pub, I struggled to find a place close to the band.The pub was completely packed out, and a space near the front, not easy to obtain.These guys are popular with many of all ages and I can see why. Sometimes it helps having a camera & as usual I had my camera with me & poised ready to catch that ever elusive shot.
This band consists of 3 guitar players & thats not all. With a varied assortment of guitars, this band kept the the pub busy, throwing what I can only describe as a western country style rock vibe,almost hillbilly but with a modern punk attitude thrown in, but what do I know? Ask them, they are the only ones who can tell you the proper name. If tappin your feet is all you can usually manage in an eve, this band will make you feel like pushing yourself further, the crowds were jumping. Want an uplifting eve ? Then these guys will certainly deliver just that! A mixture of slightly Irish Celtic melody & American Rock, adds so much flavour! Banjo /Guitar player Rob, one drummer called Aide & lots of vocals & guitar action from Tony ( lead singer) & Mark.
This band is not to be missed. I have not seen anything quite like this before.
Not only is their style of music very unique but their choice of songs includes well known covers & their own material. This band is enough to keep you rocking for hours, & the overall entertainment from their performance is something you won't forget.
With a large following, these guys are pretty busy gigging, allover Dorset, and there is no escape of their magnetism and charismatic & slightly wild attitude pulling you in. Hooked !
I can quite easily see this band being a big name for the future & quite easily imagine them popping up at an event like Glastonbury ( nice )

View Gallery 2

http://www.forest-friends.co.uk

 

REVIEW: DANI WILDE, JAMES HARRISON, EDDIE MARTIN
MR KYPS 31ST OCTOBER 2007


Transforming quite a large live music venue into a close and intimate acoustic session Mr Kyps played host to three exceptionally talented acts this Halloween.

Dani Wilde was first to the stage and impressed the audience with her strong, raucous vocal talent and also ably accompanied herself on guitar. The first song was a solo and then her younger brother on harp and a bassist joined her. The trio gave the audience some renditions of both original and cover songs of traditional blues with some great solos from Dani’s brother. Dani told us that she is about to start recording her new album in Germany and copies of the demo that got her a record deal were on sale on the night. Dani’s voice is quite amazing, very versatile and she showed great vocal control throughout the session, in spite of having a slight cold!

Next was singer/songwriter James Harrison. James’s father formed a band called the Saraband who were a’70s Folk Rock group, and James started his set with “Summer has gone” – a Saraband cover. Accompaniment was from the amazing Si Genero on harp who did a very melodic solo and also accompanied James on vocals on Loving Flame, the next song for which James moved from keyboards to guitar. My favourite song of the set was “Bye Bye Baby” which James told was about an ex-girlfriend of his who has inspired many of his songs. His performance was polished but may have been improved by more eye contact with the audience while he was singing and more interaction with the audience between songs. His songs are fantastic though and he is an amazing local talent here in Bournemouth.

Headlining after James was the incredible Eddie Martin. I have not seen him live before and it was great to see such a consummate performer in such close proximity. Eddie was playing “Goldie” – his steel guitar, and accompanying himself with rhythm suitcase and harmonica. Eddie played some Sunhouse and Muddy Waters and some new material from his forthcoming album. The whole place went quite whilst he played a slow blues… He got the audience involved with “Don do it, I dun did it” – an old number from the ‘40’s and did a great solo on the harp and the suitcase! The atmosphere was warm and inspired and the audience was with him. It was a really fun performance and his guitar playing wonderful to see and hear.
Another great night’s entertainment from Mr Kyps!

 

REVIEW: KAT MAN DON’T – FROM HERE TO THERE, (THE JOURNEY)

This album is the second from Gary (aka Kat Man Don’t) and it shows how his creativity has evolved over the last 2 years or so. The songs are full of subtle instrumentation with Gary playing most of the instruments and producing the album himself.

Synthesisers, spainish guitar, (Road to Kantara,) semi-acoustic and electric guitars, acoustic and electric bass and percussion all feature on the album and Gary also does all the vocals. There is a distinct change in direction from his first album “The Crazy Serum” with more focus on funked up grooves than on the chilled out style of before although there are still elements of Buddha Bar style production throughout the album. The songs are based around funk/jazz riffs and rhythms with excellent sound effects thrown in for good measure. To me it is chilled out funk with the odd twist here and there…

What is notable is the skill with which Gary orchestrates, arranges and produces the music, which are skills he is now offering to other musicians through his own studio www.KMDstudio.co.uk

Track 5 on the album, “Cool Smoothy Blueness” is one of my favourites. It has a strong bass hook and the message of the song poignantly reminds us of the simple wonders of the world. Listen to this track here.

The album is true to its title and carries you to far off places and back again. The artwork on the CD also deserves a mention – original and well produced – visit Pentangled Designs www.pentangled.co.uk

 

 


CuRioSiTy - Wed 18th July

Review courtesy of Ellie Cowley, Daily Echo


The range of bands at Kyps on Wednesday night may have meant not all the music on offer was to your palate, but even if that were the case, you could not help but appreciate what this venue is trying to achieve with their monthly CuRioSiTy night. I had an exceptionally good time listening to all three distinctly different and talented bands. Though I had been drawn to the night by the promised presence of Vincent Vincent & the Villains, I was pleased to see Bournemouth based ensemble Betika. With their folksy sound complete with glockenspiel, trumpet and varied percussion blended with rocky riffs and meaty vocals, Betika are what would have happened if Belle and Sebastian had been introduced formally to rock n' roll, and it works.

It's been a long time since I heard something as truly original as follow act Gabby Young & Other Animals. Infused with jazz undertones and deviating into variations reminiscent of Tori Amos and, at times, Jeff Buckley, Gabby's unique voice lends power to the band's unique brand of alternate rock. Final act Vincent Vincent and the Villains were nothing less than pure drama. With the nostalgic glamour of Elvis, Billy Fury and Eddie Cochran rolled into one, Vincent and company rock n' roll with gusto. Not to be confused with any kind of cheesy almost tribute 50s band, Vincent Vincent & the Villians have just enough of that cynical today's world edge to keep them firmly placed in this decade. Raucous, recycled, rambunctious rock n' roll.
Review courtesy of Ellie Cowley, Daily Echo

Mr Kyps Live Music Venue
8a Parr Street, Poole BH14 0JY
website: www.mrkyps.net
email: info@mrkyps.net
myspace: www.myspace.com/curiosityrocks
telephone: 01202 748945

 

Venue: Mr Kyps Big Blues Party

Date: Wednesday 27th December 2006


Stuffed with Christmas fair and wanting to avoid the post Christmas anti-climax, an exceedingly good tonic is a visit to Mr Kyps for the Big Blues Party. This show has been running for 3 years now and consistently provides a good evenings entertainment in between Christmas and New Year.


The show is put on by our local Blues man, Hugh Budden who pulls together some of the best blues musicians in the area for a night of traditional blues, rock and roll and the ever popular Blues Brothers Review.


The evening started with Blues Etc. Who mainly play in Southampton so it was a real treat to see them performing in Poole. Chris Collins (vox, guitar) fronts the band with Elrad Mathews (drums), Darren Stevens (bass) and Hugh on the harp (harmonica.) The show kicked off with their rendition of Shake for Me and was followed by some great slide on Rules of this House. Gavin Whitlock on baritone sax and James Waite on keys soon joined the band and Blues Etc played straight blues with some funky numbers like Pawnshop Bound and Just a Little Bit thrown in. Then came the first surprise of the night – a showcase song by a new singer called Jane Young who sang Rather go Blind. Jane’s voice was an instant hit and I’m sure that more performances will follow. Then it was all change and The Ju-Ju Men hit the stage. Guitarist Pete K virtually tore his guitar apart with his playing on Wait on Time, sung by Hugh. The Ju-Ju Men rocked it up some more with Stupid Girl, sung by Rockin’ Roj, and Route 66 featuring Merv on drums and PP on bass. Hugh took to the vocals again for A Cold day in Hell, which was a spectacular performance of passion and angst both on the vocal and the harp. Then it was straight into Riding on the L & N – a speciality for blues harp players and Hugh did it every bit of justice in his playing.


Blues Etc along with James and Gavin returned to the stage to become the Blues Brothers band heralding the arrival of the amazing Terry Nash (from Stars in Their Eyes fame) who proceeded to give his all in the role of Jake Blues with Hugh donning the hat and shades as his brother Elwood. They started with Everybody, then Minnie the Moocher, Midnight Hour and Flip Flop Fly. The finale saw every performer back on stage for Hound Dog, Johnny B Good (featuring Chris Collins playing excellent lead guitar) and finishing with the classic Sweet Home Chicago during which Terry came off stage into the audience and made them form a circle into which he was pulling members of the audience to dance with him.


During the song Hugh gradually said goodbye to each musician until their was only himself and Chris left on stage for 8 bars together and then WHUMP! Finish! Memorable moments to finish a fantastic show – if you missed it this year make a date for 2007 now!

Visit www.mrkyps.net for more live gigs! For more info about Hugh, click on

Hugh's Blues and check out our live gigs page for his full gig listing

See our Gallery for photos - for gig bookings email hugh@dolfinmusic.com

 

JAMES HARRISON – DEBUT AT MR KYPS SUNDAY 5TH NOVEMBER 2006

 

The evening was chilly outside but warm inside with candles and low lighting around the blue-lit stage at Mr Kyps. James opened for the night showing us his accomplished pianist skills and melodic song writing talent with the song “She’s only in my head”. James is wonderful to see live! His voice is strong and smooth and the songs flow in gorgeous arrangements and melodies. Following this was “Every Candle”, “I will come to you” and “Loving Flame”.

His lyrical prowess is something to respect also with original ideas and strong messages about relationships and life. He sang some old favourites (The Clown) and one of the first songs he ever wrote on the piano, “Hand of Time.” He alternated between the guitar and piano with ease and it gave a nice variety to the performance.

His songs remind me of the song writing team that was famous in the ‘60’s although I can’t remember who they were! If you have a chance to see James live then please make it a date – you won’t be disappointed!

www.jamesharrison.org

www.myspace.com/jamesharrisonuk

 

 

Happy With You - James Harrison

Wow! This much awaited album of new songs is a welcome addition to James's repertoire - nine new songs and a variety of styles and influences shining through. His manager Fiona Anderson has told me it's been a busy year for James - festivals, winning a busking licence on Bournemouth pier, connecting with numerous other locals artists in collaborative live gigs, producing his own album, playing at Bournemouth Live, joining a band, leaving a band, getting a residency at a local pub, putting on events and about to start on his second album.

The opening title track, "Happy with You" has a brilliant overdriving lead rock guitar running through it backed by simple drums, bass and acoustic guitar. The song reminds me faintly of the Everly Brothers, mainly due to the melodic harmonies and country style sound. The second song, one of my personal favourites, is "Loving Flame", an original title and lyric with a poignant perspective of a lover's acknowledgement of his inspiration. The track features James and his guitar only and seems all the better for it as this gives space for the lyric and the listeners' imagination.
Following this is "It's just a dream" - a slight hint of Chris de Burgh keyboards with a lullaby melody. The mood changes for "I need you" which has been produced with slightly overdriven guitars which give a raw sound feel, complemented by harmonies. One of the strongest songs on the album follows, with "Tell me Why" - a New York style piano shuffle and a mature sound reminding me of that supreme talent Billy Joel. "She's only in my Head" also has a nice piano intro; it is a ballad and has a clever lyric and good arrangement.

The whole album shows with out doubt James's talent for writing original, good commercial songs, in a variety of styles and rhythms. It is a mood album, taking you through highs and lows of personal relationships and subtle in its simplicity. It also inspires you to go and see him live. The album shows James potential as a songwriter and performer and that it may not be that long before he becomes a major artist.


Check out James on the web at http://www.jamesharrison.org and http://www.myspace.com/jamesharrisonuk

 

 

Event: Big Blues Party
Venue: Mr Kyps
Date: Thursday 29th December 2005

Review

Mr Kyps played host to some of the finest blues musicians in the south on Thursday 29th December 2005 with the advent of the Big Blues Party organised by Hugh Budden -one of the south's premier harp players.

There was a good crowd and the atmosphere was relaxed and friendly, the evening kicking off with a tight set from Southampton based blues band Blues Etc. Chris Collins fronts the band with Elrad Mathews on drums, Darren Stevens on bass and Hugh on the harp. The groove started to flow right from the start with a little number called "Shake for me". Hugh picked up the vocals for "Pawnshop Bound" - a very funky William Clarke song which saw the introduction of Gavin Whitlock on baritone sax and James Waite on the keys.

The rock 'n' roll dance crew were out in force and showing us how it's done. There was a change of drummer with Reid Coltrane from Arecibo Blues House getting onto the kit for "Rock with Me" and then moving to lead vocals for "Before You Accuse Me", another change then saw the Ju-Ju Men take the stage.

Things really began to rock with Rockin' Roj on vocals and Pete K on lead guitar. Hugh gave us an excellent rendition of "Riding on the L&N" and we then boogied senseless to a groovy dance number called "Dirty Water".

Another appearance from Reid on the drums and vocals doing "Bullfrog Blues" and then we were introduced to the spectacular Terry Nash as Jake Blues with his sidekick Elwood! (Hugh) doing "Everybody Needs Somebody" and other Blues Bros numbers. By this point the dance floor was packed and Mr Kyps was really jumping with excitement. Hugh got everyone on stage for the finale (Sweet Home Chicago) with all the bands together.

Hugh was playing throughout the evening with all the bands and several costume changes! To gather all that talent together in one room for an evening was quite an achievement and the result was a superb evening of entertainment and fun - I would highly recommend it for anyone who enjoys listening to live music and dancing - can't wait for next year!

Go to Hugh's Blues or the Gigs page for more information on where Hugh's music and where he is playing next.

 

The Crazy Serum - Kat Man Don't

This is an album you can relax to - definitely! Lie down somewhere comfortable and float away...

The album is a journey through atmospheric sounds and cultures. It falls in the realm of ambient chill out dance music - think Cafe Del Mar/Buddha Bar series influence by The Ozric Tenticles to get an idea.

My favourite tune is Raja than Life which has some brilliant sound effects and atmosphere. The first track on the album sets the mood, slowly building with keyboards and some nice delay guitar into a bluesy rhythm. Track 3 is the title track which changes tack a little into a folksy style whilst It's Up to You is a mellow hip hop beat.

The songs are quite long - the longest is 6.16 mins (Track 1: "Live a Little (Anyway)". The album transists from the mellow ambient tracks through bluesy moments to quite moody ("It's Up to You") and on from that the rave beat in "So Lonely".

The main feelings that come across are dreamy/funky/flowing and interesting!

e:mail Gary at email2gary@btinternet.com

 

 

Back to Top

Dolfin Home
Services
Bands
Gigs
Latest Info
Contact
Hugh's Blues
Reviews
Recording Studios
Gallery